We are looking for new members so why not join us?
Belvoir Wassailers
Director: John Down
Accompanist: Jenny Walker
Click here to view the Committee
Just phone / text Kevin Burrows:
07557 410215
or click here to email:
Follow us on Twitter: @BWassailers
In September 2010, the Belvoir Wassailers – the Belvoir Castle's own male voice choir – was reformed at the request of the Duchess. Directed by Robert-John Edwards, the Belvoir Wassailers performed at the castle's annual "Belvoir by Candlelight" celebration in December 2010. The choir is currently working on a variety of new material, including popular, folk, seasonal and commemorative music.
John Down graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and subsequently worked in a variety of manufacturing businesses and environments. For several years before his retirement he was Managing Director of a software house specialising in integrated manufacturing systems.

His earliest choral memory is singing with his primary school choir and winning their class in the local Music Festival. He has sung in choirs ever since, and spent six months singing with a male voice choir in Holland.
Locally he has sung with Grantham Singers, Grantham Choral Society and Grantham Operatic Society with whom he has sung a number of leading roles.

He formed and conducted his first choir in Bedfordshire in the 1970s. More recently he has conducted Collage, a small mixed voice choir, for ten years until the end of 2014. He is also involved in singing and drama with Grantham U3A.
The Choir Members
Born in Southampton, Jenny is an accomplished pianist and musician. She has Grade 6 violin, an LGSM diploma in pianoforte performance, an honours degree in Music Arts from UCNW Bangor and a PGCE teaching certificate. Jenny has worked in secondary schools, gives piano lessons, solo performances and accompanies others. Jenny moved to Grantham in 2001 and has an active piano teaching practice.

[To keep up to date please visit my website by clicking on the heading above]
Edward Adams
Adam Bishop
Paul Bowes
Mick Bradshaw (Librarian)
Peter Branch
Kevin Burrows (Membership)
Roy Clark
Andy Clarke
Dermot Daly (Web)
Tom Devine (Promotions)
Paul Emmett
Mark Eurich
Alan Farmilo (Secretary)
Paul Gibbins (Treasurer)
Iain Gillies
Peter Knowles
Tim Lavery
Ken Matthews
Steve Mellor
Jonathan Miller
John Morrissey
Dick Neal
Mark Pargin
Geoff Petchey
Clint Purcocks
Gilbert Ward (Chairman)

Every Tuesday, 19.30 to 21.30 Rehearsal - Knipton Village Hall...

Ron Clark
Adam Bishop

Ex-Choir Members